Honoring Eight Members of Congress Who Fought For NBCC This Year

A separate, but equally important part of NBCC’s Annual Advocacy Training Conference is Lobby Day, which always takes place the day after the Conference ends. On that day our 600 advocates take Capitol Hill by storm, as they hold hundreds of meetings with their elected representatives and their key staff members, discussing NBCC’s policy and legislative priorities and enlisting their support. The day is an exhilarating and productive experience for everyone who participates.

In the afternoon, NBCC holds its Annual Congressional Awards reception, to honor those Members of Congress whose efforts were especially beneficial this year. This year’s reception took place on Tuesday, April 29th at 4:30 in the Caucus Room of the Russell Senate Office Building (Room 325.) We proudly honored these eight outstanding lawmakers:

Sen. Sherrod BrownSenate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV)
Senator Orin Hatch (R-UT)
Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
Representative Tom Davis (R-VA)
Representative Judy Biggert (R-IL)
Representative Henry Waxman (D-CA)

In addition, the following nine lawmakers are in NBCC’s “Hall of Fame” in recognition of their steadfast leadership in the fight against breast cancer. (Years of induction are noted.)

Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) – 1999
Senator Edward Kennedy (D-MA) – 1999
Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT) – 1999
Representative Nita Lowey (D-NY) – 1999
Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME) – 2001
Representative Anna Eshoo (D-CA) – 2001
Senator Hillary Clinton (D-NY) – 2005
Representative Sue Myrick (R-NC) – 2005
Representative Lois Capps (D-CA)- 2007

Rep. Lois CappsAll these leaders work to ensure that the federal government makes breast cancer a priority and they support substantive polices that will lead to the end of this disease. We are grateful to our honorees for their commitment and vision.

Fran Visco
National Breast Cancer Coalition


%d bloggers like this: